After getting permission for establishment in 1986 from State Planning Committee, the State Key Laboratory of Coastal and Offshore Engineering passed national inspection and thus approval in July 1990. October 1990 witnessed the foundation and the first session of the Academic Committee where the Committee Charter was written, Administrative Regulation passed and Laboratory Management Rules established. Since December 1990, the Laboratory has become available to visitors at home and abroad. It won favorable comments in the State Key Laboratory Evaluation of 1994, 1997, 2003, 2008, 2013 and 2018. Professor Huajun Li, member of Chinese Academy of Engineering, is the current Director of Academic Committee, and Professor Liang Cheng  is the Laboratory Director.

    The Laboratory works hard at advanced theories and technologies in coastal and offshore engineering aiming at providing technical support and scientific solution to technical issues of engineering design and standards. The Laboratory has two national Innovative Research Groups: (1) Ocean Environment Disaster Action on offshore structure and its safety, led by professor Bin Teng; (2) Engineering structure safety and monitoring, led by professor Hongnan Li. Based upon the experts’ suggestions of the seventh session of the Academic Committee, five research areas have been fixed:

    (1)Metocean Conditions and Flow-structure Interactions;

    (2)Estuary and Coast Managements;

    (3)Key Coastal and Sea-crossing Infrastructures;

    (4)Infrastructure Engineering for Marine Resource Extractions;

    (5)Asset Management Engineering.

    The Laboratory is composed of doctoral and post-doctoral programs in hydraulic engineering and civil engineering respectively in addition to one national innovative research group and two innovation groups of the Ministry of Education. The Hydraulic Engineering Branch ranks among the top National Key disciplines (with five secondary key disciplines included), while the Civil Engineering Branch ranks among the secondary State Key disciplines. Both are included in the "211 Project" and "985 Project ". Among the 62 faculty are four academicians (Qiu Dahong, Lin Gao, Ou Jin-ping, Kong Xianjing), thirty-one professors, seven winners of the National Outstanding Youth Fund, and five Distinguished Professors of Cheung Kong Scholars Program. Three of the faculties have been recognized as New Century Talents and four have been selected as the New Century Talents by the Ministry of Education.

    The main large-scale equipments in the laboratory include: U-type wave maker; super large triaxial apparatus; large-scale ocean dynamic environment / structure / seabed interaction O-tube test device; joint simulation system of earthquake, wave and wind; nonlinear wave flume system; polar sea ice field test system; complex load static and dynamic test machine; geotechnical static and dynamic universal hydraulic triaxial and torsional shear apparatus; geotechnical wave making system of drum centrifuge; multi-purpose photogrammetry system, etc.

    Having set up 132 open funds and host 12 national and international academic conferences in the last six years, the Laboratory is now collaborating on such high-level research projects as marine environment, undersea pipelines, laser flow field measurement techniques, structural seismic and many more with many countries including the United States, Britain, South Korea, Japan and Australia.